Usuthu end season with Maritzburg draw

AmaZulu FC and Maritzburg United drew 0-0 in their final DStv Premiership match of the 2020/21 season at the Harry Gwala Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

The draw saw Usuthu finish a successful campaign on the second spot which earned them a place in next season’s CAF Champions League.

Usuthu started the KwaZulu-Natal Derby match brightly with Siphiwe Tshabalala seeing a lot of the ball in the Team of Choice’s half as he looked to link up with the strikers.

Siphiwe Tshabalala played a defence-splitting pass for Lehlohonolo Majoro in the 13th minute, but the AmaZulu striker was ruled offside.

The Team of Choice improved as the match progressed and they had an opportunity to break the deadlock on the half-hour mark.

DStv Premiership Footballer of the Year nominee Thabiso Kutumela unleashed a shot that was well-saved by Maritzburg goalkeeper Neil Boshoff.

Kutumela was causing problems for the AmaZulu defence and his effort was saved by Boshoff in the 40th minute and the score was 0-0 at the interval.

Maritzburg continued to launch attacks after the restart with Bongokuhle Hlongwane’s left-footed shot being blocked by Boshoff four minutes into the second-half.

Bandile Shandu was then afforded some space and time to pull the trigger in the 66th minute and his attempt went just over the crossbar.

The momentum was with the Team of Choice inside the final 10 minutes of the game, but the hosts were let down by some poor finishing.

Travis Graham’s volleyed shot was blocked before Daniel Morgan unleashed a shot that flew over the crossbar with five minutes left on the clock.

Ultimately, the match ended in a 0-0 stalemate with AmaZulu having contained Maritzburg in the closing stages of the encounter.

Maritzburg 0
AmaZulu 0

Maritzburg: Engelhardt, Claasen (Stevic 74′), Ismail, Daniels, Tlolane (Morgan 74′), Rae, Allie, Graham, Shandu, Hlongwane, Kutumela.

AmaZulu: Boshoff, Mzava, Mgwazela, Masilela, Sikhakhane (Xoki 69′), Ncube, Mlambo (Sithebe 69′), Mabiliso (Chawapiwa 86′), Tshabalala, Majoro (Zungu 86′), De Jong (Ntuli 69′).

Share Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



* indicates required

Current Date: