KZN Draw for 2012 Engen Knockout Challenge

The Engen Refinery in Durban played host once again to the official draw of the KwaZulu-Natal leg of the highly anticipated 2012 Engen Knockout Challenge.


Kicking off for three days of action on 31 August, hosts AmaZulu Football Club under the direction of Tournament Director Peter O’Connor, will welcome 15 other clubs to these superlative sports grounds, in their bid to be crowned 2012 champions.


In its ninth year, the tournament has entrenched its position as one of the country’s premier platforms for spotting promising football talent and plays a major role in the development of young players in South Africa.


Created specifically to promote competitive conditions for under 17s, the challenge levels the playing fields, affording young football players an equal chance to perform to their best potential in the hope of being scouted and the opportunity of transforming their lives.


All in all, the Engen Knock-Out-Challenge will influence the lives of up to 2000 participants across 80 amateur clubs and schools.


Sixteen teams in each of five regions participate either by invitation and/or through qualifying rounds, play a total of 48 matches over three days.


One of the key rules and life skill elements of the Challenge is that all teams stay throughout the duration of the tournament so they can continue to learn and support their contemporaries.


“The Engen Knockout Challenge has provided a platform for young footballers to showcase their talent in an environment that truly personifies the Engen brand, that being a caring and committed corporate company.


Engen looks to further grow and develop the sport as well as unearth young talent in and around South Africa”, commented Brad Bergh, Engen Group Sponsorship Manager.


Don’t miss out on all the thrills and spills of the Engen Knockout Challenge, taking place at the Pegasus Sports Ground, Engen Refinery, Wentworth on 31 August – 2 September 2012.


Pool 1:
Merewent Aces
Crossmoor Crusaders
Vision Academy


Pool 2:
Golden Arrows
Gem Sporting


Pool 3:
Maritzburg United
Hammersdale Junior Aces


Pool 4:
Thanda Royal Zulu
Durban United
Lenham Sporting

Share Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *