Usuthu held by Dikwena

AmaZulu were held to a goalless draw by visitors Platinum Stars in an Absa Premiership match at Princess Magogo Stadium on Wednesday evening.

It was AmaZulu that made the first move which saw Bongi Ntuli being caught in the offside position.

In the 12th minute of the match Sadate Ouro-Akoriko made a good clearance from Tlou Segolela’s shot.

Vuyo Mere also tried to capitalise on a set piece, but AmaZulu defender Tapelo Nyongo did well to clear the ball away.

After that Bongani Ndulula tried to register his name in the score sheet but his shot went wide in the 25th minute.

AmaZulu were also awarded a free kick after an unfair challenge on Ntuli by Tshikovhi but Van Heerden could not make it count as his shot went over the crossbar.

In the 34th minute Ndumiso Mabena made a comeback for the visitors but Mbulelo Mabizela blocked his shot.

John Arwuah also came back with a later attempt but his shot was blocked by Masenamela.

The last chance for Usuthu to find a lead before end of the first fell to the foot of Van Heerden, but his set piece went over the bar once again.

In the second half Platinum Stars showed more hunger as Siphiwe Sithole’s header missed to the right of the target.

AmaZulu tried to push for a goal as they kept Stars on the back foot in the 64th minute.

Six minutes the home side also received a free kick, which was taken by Ouro-Akoriko but went to waste.

Substitute Masibulele Zongo supplied a free kick but Murambadoro was well alert to catch the ball.

In the 81st minute Steve Barker brought in striker Ayanda Dlamini in place of midfielder John Arwuah.

Four minutes later Bornwell Mwape tried to find a late goal but his shot went wide.

The last chance for AmaZulu came in through Van Heerden’s shot that went wide, which saw the two teams sharing a point each.

AmaZulu: Energy Murambadoro, Robyn Johannes, Sedat Ouro-Akoriko, Mbulelo Mabizela, Marc Van Heerden, Sfiso Hlanti, Tapelo Nyongo, John Arwuah (Ayanda Dlamini 81’), Goodman Dlamini, Bongi Ntuli, Bongani Ndulula (Bornwell Mwape 55’)

Platinum Stars: Kabelo Dambe, Gift Sithole, Bryce Moon (Masibulele Zongo 74’), Punch Masenamela, Vuyo Mere, Robert Ngambi, Tlou Segolela, Rofhiwa Tshikovi, Mogakolodi Ngele, Ndumiso Mabena (Eleazar Rodgers 85’) Solomon Mathe.

Share Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *