Usuthu aim to end year in style

AmaZulu will look to end the year on a winning note when they visit Kaizer Chiefs at the FNB Stadium on Tuesday night.

Usuthu are unbeaten in three consecutive matches under coach Craig Rosslee, playing to 1-1 draws against Black Leopards, Bidvest Wits, and most recently Chippa United.

Usuthu have recorded four wins and four losses from their eight away matches so far this season, but they will have to be at their best to topple a Kaizer Chiefs side that is unbeaten in their backyard this season.

Stuart Baxter’s side still boast an excellent home record, with six wins and two draws from eight matches.

Usuthu are placed 16th on the Absa Premiership log with 12 points from 15 matches, while Amakhosi are placed first on the Absa Premiership log with 32 points from 15 matches.

Chiefs also go into this game on the back of two consecutive 1-1 draws as they shared the spoils with Orlando Pirates before being held by the University of Pretoria at the same venue where Tuesday night’s clash will take place.

In head-to-head stats, Chiefs and AmaZulu have met in 47 league matches since 1985.

The Amakhosi have traditionally dominated the fixture, claiming 28 wins compared to just seven for Usuthu.

Chiefs’ home record against the Durban side is even more one-sided: 17 wins from 24 matches and just two defeats.

When the teams met earlier this season Usuthu were on the receiving end of a 6-0 scoreline, a result that some of the senior members of the squad have dismissed as a thing of the past.

Chiefs’ line-up from their 1-1 draw with Tuks: Khune, Gaxa, Mathoho, Mashamaite, Masilela, Tshabalala, Katsande, Letsholonyane, Lebese (Nkhatha 74′), Parker (Ngcobo 74′), Majoro.

AmaZulu’s line-up from their 1-1 draw with Chippa: Kapini, Nyadombo, P. Cele, Teyise (Mokoro 58′), Van Heerden, Kgatla, Madondo, Zwane (Mbele 64′), Senamela (Thompson 86′), Khumalo, A. Dlamini.



Share Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *