Sundowns edge Usuthu in Pretoria

Mamelodi Sundowns defeated AmaZulu FC 1-0 in an Absa Premiership match at Loftus Versfeld Stadium on Tuesday night.

As a result, Usuthu and Masandawana remained 15th and second respectively on the league standings.

Masandawana dominated the match from the start with Sphelele Mkhulise looking lively for the home side and nearly grabbed an early goal.

The promising attacker’s effort from the edge of the box was well-saved by Siyabonga Mbatha in the AmaZulu goal-posts a minute into the game.

The hosts continued to create chances as the game progressed and Lebohang Maboe fired over the crossbar in the 18th minute after being set-up by Lyle Lakay.

Lakay was playing quality balls into the Usuthu box and in the 28th minute, his cross found Motjeka Madisha, whose header narrowly missed the target.

Pitso Mosimane’s men never lost hope and they managed to break the deadlock just before the half-time break.

Ali Jose Meza was the man, who beat Mbatha after being set-up by Sibusiso Vilakazi and the score was 1-0 to Sundowns at the interval.

The hosts continued to attack after the restart as they looked to double their lead and Meza came close to grabbing his brace.

The Venezuelan attacker beat his marker before unleashing a thunderous effort which was brilliantly saved by Usuthu keeper Neil Boshoff just before the hour-mark.

Former Sundowns striker Bonginkosi Ntuli, who came into the match having netted seven league goals, was tightly marked by the Masandawana defence.

Usuthu pushed for a late equalising goal against defending league champions with Lehlohonolo Majoro working hard in attack for the visitors.

Ultimately, the match ended in a 1-0 victory in favour of Sundowns after they contained AmaZulu in the closing stages of the match.

Sundowns (1) 1 ( Meza45’+3)
AmaZulu (0) 0

Sundowns: Mweene, Ngcongca, Madisha, Lebusa, Jali, Coetzee, Lakay, Vilakazi (Makgalwa 80′), Maboe (Mabunda 90+2), Mkhulise, Meza (Ngoma 70′).
AmaZulu: Mbatha (Boshoff 46′), Booysen, Khumalo, Morton, Maduna, Vilakazi, P. Gumede, Darpoh, Ntuli, Masilela (Karuru 46′), Sithebe (Majoro 74′).

Share Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *